Research models and services

Dawn Goolsby

Site Director

Specialties

+ Site management
+ Business operations
+ Quality control 

Areas of Expertise

+ Laboratory animal care management

+ Canine production oversight

+ Breeding colonies

+ Institutional Animal Care & Use Committee (IACUC)

What are your responsibilities at Envigo?

I have complete oversight of all phases for the canine production facility in Cumberland, Virginia. My job involves a lot of variety - from site management and staffing, to animal welfare and logistics. It keeps me busy and I thoroughly enjoy it. 

What inspired you to pursue a career in science?

I started working as an animal technician, purely because I wanted a job. I soon knew I wanted to make this my life's career. 

What are some of the best aspects of your job?

I have been at the Cumberland site since 1989. I've met and worked with some wonderful people both inside and outside the organization. I love the opportunity to help guide and mentor some of our staff. I have been very impressed with our executive leadership's support and involvement from the first day. I am excited for our company's future and where we'll go together. 

What are some key attributes to being successful in your role?

I have been fortunate to have worked in each department on the site during my time here. This has given me invaluable experience and insight into the different roles and their demands. It helps me in my current role to listen and truly understand some of the challenges in each employee's role. It also helps me understand their ideas and see how those may impact what we do in a positive manner. 

Which career achievements make you proud?

Every time I hear of a new drug, medical device, or procedure that achieves regulatory approval and gives someone a chance for a better quality of life. I feel as though we should all celebrate these achievements. We have all played a part in each one of these advancements - past or present. 

What are some of your favorite things to do outside of Envigo?

I love spending time with my husband, kids, and grandkids. Spending time outside is my favorite. We are in a very rural setting and I love it. I live about 35 minutes from work, but it's such a nice drive that I don't mind at all. It's home.

Please contact us if you have a question for Dawn or are interest in learning more about our canine models. Review Dawn's CV

SPEAK TO OUR EXPERT